scalp's scalping journal

Discussion in 'Journals' started by scalp, Feb 6, 2003.

1. scalp

scalp

Hi all!
    I started trading around 12 month ago.
    I tried to develop a trend following method but I failed. I used around 2pt stop in the ES and tried to reach 3 - 5 points gain. But I was to often caught in the mess. I had a lot of breakeven stops and also got whipped out too often before the real move occurred.

Two month ago I started to trade a counter trend scalping method with very tight stop (avg. stop inc. commissions is 0.6 points) and go for the quick profit before a wiggle comes in (avg. winner is around 0.9 points inc. commissions).
    My winning % is around 60%.

So far so good but I`m still not satisfied with my trading.

I only get around 6 signals a day.
    My average daily gain is only 2 points inc. comm.
    I do much better when the volume is low. So I rarely take a trade in the first hour of trading.
    My method works def. best when trading the ES.
    I know people trading the momentum in the first 30min very very smart and taking as much points out of the market as I do in a week.

I always tell to myself that 2 points a day is MUCH better than losing. If its true that around 90 of 100 traders fail to get profitable I maybe just be Mr. 91 but thats still great.

Last week was very typical for my trading (bit more trades than usual) I got +14 points with 39 trades. (So around +10 points after comm)

My main target with this journal is to get assistance by experienced trades in order to reach a higher level of psychological skill and satisfaction.

I will shortly describe my trading method here and any comment is very welcome:

60min and 15min chart for the bigger picture.
    Just one moving average for trend (34ema but could be a another period too) and volume.

3min charts for the signals:
    volume, 21 and 55 ema for trend and targets (supp and res), bollinger Bands for the range