Scalping

Discussion in 'Trading' started by arzoo, Aug 22, 2002.

1. arzoo

arzoo

I'm new to trading and basically do a bit of day trading and swing trades on stocks. I've seen a lot of posts on scalping and from them understand them more or less.

Hope you experienced guys can tell me how much of a spread a scalper looks out for. I guess his is important since you pay commission per share, which leads to quite a big amount & makes it difficult to make gains if you have losses?

Also, which issues are better to scalp. I ask this since I noticed scalpers trade a lot of shares & make money or small gains but big volume. I noticed that there seems to be only a few issues on the nasdaq that can take such big volumes, and am not sure if issues on the nyse are volatile enough?

Sorry if the questions sound ridiculous, I'm just trying to learn as much as I can.

Thanks

2. Just do the math. If you pay penny a share, that's 2 cetns per roundtrip. If you make dime per trade + 2 cetns = 12 cents. On 1000 sahres, that's $100. Wait patirently all day nad make 5 - 10 trades, they add up to $500 - $1000 per day. Not a bad living.

There is a caveat: for scalping purposes, the setup HAS to have above average probability of succeeding. Risk-reward thing. If you want to trade SPW or NOC or NVR..you are taking huge risks, therefore, you deserve higher reward. But if you are after reward of only 10 cents, your risk should match that...i.e., low risk, higher rate of success.. The blotter should have 10 - 15 trades...with maybe 20% losing trades, 80% winning trades....and net P&L of + $500 + at 1000 share positions.

Now..what are those set-ups???? There is the holy grail.

3. arzoo

arzoo

Thanks NYC! That's as clear as it gets.

Am I right to assume that scalpers take about 1 or maybe 2 positions at a time only since your only running after the quick gain?