Scalping Questions for Career Scalpers

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by GMillz, Sep 1, 2006.

1. GMillz

GMillz

Hello,

I'm a recent college grad that has been learning as much as I can about the markets and trading my Scottrade account for the past 3 years. I'm now seeking employment at a Prop Firm. One firm that I am speaking with now told me that most of the traders are scalpers and a few are overnight traders.

I was wondering if anyone could give me some information as to what types of people are scalpers in terms of psychological profiles? Does anyone know where I could obtain this type of information?

Is the Taylor Trading Technique a good book to read for scalping?

Are there any good QUALITY books available on scalping?

Last question....Is scalping a robust strategy that can be effectively employed across markets (i.e. from equities to index futures)?

Thanks for your input. If you scalp for a living, please include that in your reply. Thanks again.

2. A scalper's psychological profile most resembles that of a serial killer. You always gotta be thinking about where your next hit is, where your fill was, who your next trade is, and where the target is etc. And when the opportunity arises, you got to pounce on it.You cannot stay too long either, or you might get caught red handed.. you must hit dat ass & run.
    NO
    Using the Ross Hooks
    I used to :D

3. When I read this quote at first I was a little offended being described as a serial killer. Then I laughed at such an absurd analogy. Then I realized to my astonishment that he is right!

I am a serial killer!:eek:

If you truly want to scalp I have attached some comments that I have made in previous threads.

http://elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=71131&perpage=20&pagenumber=1
    http://elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&postid=1111715#post1111715

Do a search using the word scalping.