Scalping Journal

Discussion in 'Journals' started by eusdaiki, Dec 11, 2006.

1. I want to start this journal to record my progress as a scalper. I haven't traded any markets for several months, Im going to be scalping stocks with a volume of no less than 2 million shares per day and that are part of the SHO pilot program [no uptick rule].

I trade from level 2 and TAS data, no charts [at the most I use them as reference]

Today I started trading on TDW. I started with trading it with good results, on 100 share lots. After 23 trades I was tied with the market at -$1 gross... after that things got ugly in 4 consecutive bad trades I lost 1,5,2 and 10 cents reaching my max loss for the day at -22 gross [max loss is 20 cents for now, I might adjust it to a tighter stop later].
    I felt that as the day progressed I became slower at identifying the change of directions in the stock, and that caused me to decrease my performance. I had several scenarios where I would lose money attempting to do a long, and then by the time I came around to do a short I lost money there too...
    I need to work on my endurance to be able to trade profitably.

2. Today I got killed.
    My excecutions where sloppy, I didnt get to feel the direction of the markets and my attention span was very low... Totally out of focus.

-20 gross -22net after 10 trades.

Lesson of the day, if you're not focusing on sim mode, stay on sim mode.

3. There is hope.

60+ trades

Net $38 Gross $67

:D

4. It was quite a fun day.
    Started trading at 13:00.
    Did most of my trades on HR. scalping the spread taking from 3 to 5 cents per trade... with up to 300 shares. :D

now that was fun. :D

5. The plan was simple...

Buying at 62.29 selling at 62.30 on EXC. The stock had been going up and down between .31 and .29 for several minutes. I place my bid and wait a few minutes with no luck. Then size vaporized and the stock drops... exec 800 shares at .22 for a nice -56 loss...