Scalping books and/or advice

Discussion in 'Trading' started by jjj1000, Jul 1, 2009.

1. jjj1000

jjj1000

Hello everyone,

This is my first posting here at ET but I have been reading it for 8 months now, and I love it! Well done guys, you keep it real and made me laugh (and learn) many times. :)

Now, I have a question: Could anyone please suggest me books about scalping (or web resources, or advice please)?

A little about me: I have been trading for 11 months now; I think that scalping is what fits my personality the best, by far; I have lost money since I started (about 5k), but 4 months ago I started to at least have flat months, and on the last 2 months I made some $500 per month on average.

I scalp only the SPY and ES (for 12 cents on the SPY and 1.25 point on the ES), with mostly equal stop win and stop losses (but not all trades hit either stops, only 50% do), and make about 200 to 300 trades per month.

I was able to get about 63% right (money winners) consistently for 2 months - the problem is that I don't have a system, I just trade by feel (with help of charts, patterns and indicators, but no system); so, being purely discretionary is a big problem for me, because I DON'T KNOW WHY I ENTER A TRADE, and that bugs me, and makes me feel insecure. This month, due to "reasonable" results in the last months, I decided to increase my bets and, sure enough, I got nervous and lost money 3 days in a row.

That's a little about me. I love scalping and I would really appreciate any help/tips about books or resources or your advice about it. Criticism and compliments are equally welcome.

Warm Regards!

2. 1) You seem to be trading for fun and excitement.
    2) You prefer not to have a "method" because that would be boring and compel you to become disciplined.