Scalpers - Reporting your gain/loss to IRS

Discussion in 'Taxes and Accounting' started by polpolik, Aug 22, 2005.

1. Hey guys, I've been reading up on people that do scalp trading and it's amazing how many times trades are done per day.

Now my question is, do you have to break down every single trade on your Schedule D? I use Ameritrade right now and I'm just a position trader and they give me a tool (Gainskeeper) to do my taxes.

How do you create your schedule D? Are there any tools out there if you trade that often per day?

Also, if you use an accountant, do you just print out your 1099 and your statement history and they create the schedule D for you? how much does that usually cost?

Thanks guys :)

2. EricP

EricP

I just list a single line per account on my Schedule D, entitled "Various" => then I combined the total cost basis for all trades, and combined sales proceeds for all trades in the columns that follow. I've done this for 6+ years and haven't had any problem with this method.

-Eric

3. Ebo

Ebo

Great advice if you want an audit!

4. Does your broker give you your total basis cost for the year? otherwise, you still have to track down each and every trade right? plus, don't you think IRS wants to find out which ones are wash sales and which ones aren't?

Re: trading futures - is the schedule D just 1 line item? no wash sales?

Im just beginning to read up on trading futures so I'm in a self-educating mode right now re: futures trading.

5. do brokers like IB give you the basis cost and the total sells? so you just do a simple arithmetic or do you keep track of every trade you do still but just report the net gain/loss?