Save me from myself

Discussion in 'Trading' started by DennisR, Apr 10, 2008.

1. DennisR

DennisR

I'm an idiot and i need advice. I'm a fairly new options trader (about a year). I was making good money selling iron condors on the indexes, but in Jan I almost wiped out my account. I re-evaluated my strategy and started trading the VIX almost exclusively. I made back all my money and then some. I know I have way too much risk but I've been making good money at work and decided i would take big risk to try and double up. After doubling (which i figured would be no prob lol) i would get way more conservative and protect my account.

Anyway I'm looking like I'm about to be cut in half by april expiration and was hoping for some advice. I've been buying VIX calls when we fall below 10dma. I bought april 27.5 calls at $1.30, doubled down at .60 and tripled down at .15. Now I have 1 week till worthless and I don't know what i should do. I was making a big bet on market tanking after earnings, which may still happen, but I'm running out of time. My account will be cut in half if I let expire, and my break even is .68c on the april 27.5 calls.

I'm just a blue collar guy who works in construction and stuck my neck out to try and make some money. I'm not going to go hungry or hate myself if i lose it all. If everyone wants to flame me and make fun of me fine. I took a risk and now I realize it was too big. At the least I learned a lesson and will try and learn as much as i can to become profitable. I'm asking for advice from people more qualified than me to figure out what I should do.

Thanks
    Dennis

2. Bowgett

Bowgett

Sell half. If market tanks you will make money on the half that you have and if maket rallies you still got back some money instead of losing it all.

3. The 'problem' when someone doubles-down or triples-down whatever trade they're currently in, is actually several things often go wrong and cause the trader to just blow out.