Satelite or Multilink

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jj_jere@hotmail, Jan 9, 2002.

1. I'm in an outlying area of Calif. and my ISP baud rate is 21.4. I'm a swing trader so I do not have to stay glued to the screen. Do I need to increase my baud rate and which of the above methods whould be best?
    Thanks; JJ

2. cashonly

cashonly Bright Trading, LLC

While Satellite has a big pipe, you'll get your quotes 1/2-3/4 of a second behind the land-line world. Also, your orders will get there 1/2-3/4 seconds later. This is due to distance to geo-synch orbit, and compression processing time.

Multilink is great if you can get an ISP that can do it.

3. So cable would be better/faster/more reliable than say a
    sattelite feed like DirectDuo which is put out for $69.95 by
    DirecTV?

4. No cable or any special lines, just an old phone line out here in the sticks. Whould that work '21.4 bauds' with real tick/
    jj

5. cashonly

Definitely, but reliability is dependent on your cable company. If they can keep the TV signal up, they should be able to keep the internet signal up.

6. Plainly, you're in internet hell. I'm in the same boat...no cable isp's, DSL, or ISDN available to me.

The advice you've gotten so far is dead on...the dish will give you the delay but in as much as you're swing trading, that shouldn't be too much of a problem. I use a dish (Starband) for data (quotes, news, etc) and a 56k dialup line for order entry. It works but I would recommend it only if your trading isn't time critical.

What is the situation with your ISP and the 21 kbs connection? Man, that is slow! and won't work with Realtick, although a 56 kbs line will. You might check out the large national ISP's like Earthlink or ATT, etc. Visit their web sites and see if they have a node that is a local call for you. Surprisingly, their coverage is pretty damn good.