Safety of Funds

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by noob trader, May 24, 2018.

1. Hi,

I am new to this whole trading thing so was hoping for some help in gathering info to make a better informed decision. I am just starting out and would like a way to day trade in real time at relatively low investment risk just to get a feel for what its like to actually trade in real time as opposed to being on a fake simulator so have been looking into brokers who allow daytrading without the min 25k needed and I came across Capital Markets Elite Group www.cmelitegroup.com/.

I know one of the things mentioned often in these boards is to stay away from off shore brokers because they are not regulated and could run off with your money etc but this company states that they are licensed/registered with their countries securities and exchange commission and the accounts are SIPC insured 500k because they use a US clearing firm, Interactive Brokers.

It seems majority of the concerns I see on elitetrader in regards to these off shore brokers is safety of funds. Wouldn't the above alleviate these concerns? What other major concerns (specifically to the safety of account funds) would I need to worry about that I wouldn't need to worry about if they were a US based firm?

Thanks

2. padutrader

padutrader

if you are an us citizen use only US based brokers who have segregated client accounts

CSEtrader likes this.
  3. CSEtrader

CSEtrader

Hello, Noob trader, welcome to the trading planet - it is not a "trading thing", it is art and business and hard at the beginning, beautiful and easy when you will master. It requires passion and respect.