RXIS's Journal

Discussion in 'Journals' started by RXIS, Dec 1, 2005.

1. RXIS

RXIS

Hello ET board members

I've been buying and selling investments on and off with simulated investment portfolios for almost a decade. Over the past couple of years I think I developed a sense for day trading and swing trading so I decided to put down real money and give it a shot.

I've been trading for about 3 months now. I started trading with an account size of $4200 and since then I've added $13,800.
    I trade on margin with an $18k account at Interactive Brokers.

I have not gained any profits and only incurred opportunity costs.
    I'm starting a journal to rant about my trades and my progess in hopes of helpful advice from other traders.

Since I am limited by the PDT rule I try to swing trade more often than day trade.
    I normally place trades on upward trending stocks that I have been watching for a little bit. I also look for good fundamentals; however, lately I've been ignoring them. I figured that if the trend was moving up and the fundamentals were strong, the trade itself would be at less of a risk to go red.

2. RXIS

RXIS

Previous Balance: $18700
    Loss: $530
    Balance: $17974

After Thanksgiving I lost about 726 and gave up all of November profits. I'm feeling pretty foolish because I bought and sold impatiently. This Thanksgiving week I began trading larger sizes. I trade within 500 and I usually trade about 200-300 shares.

I think I can place successful trades and with a larger position I should be able to produce larger profits. I need to cut my losses a little quicker but I make bad decisions as to when to sell because it just depends on the individual trade. I also need to take my time in choosing which stock to place trades with( filter out noise). This past week was a very distracting week. I was studying for exams that I absolutely need to do great on. Having the little tot running around during the day is also distracting.

My Trades: