Russell 2000 - Brokers hunting stops!

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by PIZZ, Oct 14, 2011.

1. PIZZ

PIZZ

Does anyone have a pic of the Russell 2000 TFZ1 on a 5min chart for today? (10/14/11?)
    Im under the sneaking suspicion my broker is hunting stops!
    Does anyone ever experienced this from their futures broker? Ive heard of forex brokers doing these shady tricks but not futures brokers. :mad:

2. rickf

rickf

I doubt it's your broker .... I think its more that /TF is just far more "jumpy" than the /ES in terms of the price action, so if you run a tight stop on the /TF you can get stopped out pretty quick.

3. Bob111

Bob111

OMG! join the movement! stand up and protest! :p :p :p

f** hilarious

4. mostly I just scalped, but I noticed the market was in an uptrend so I put on 2 ES with a stop way the hell down there and pretended I was a position trader.

It just so happened that it was a very big down day. I even walked away from the computer and watched the whole thing on CNBC. Every few seconds the Dow or S&P index would scroll by and sometimes it would be up a tick or so but mostly it was down. Hour after hour.

Finally, about an hour before the close I was mercifully stopped out after a huge big move down, like 6%, then the market started recovering a little bit.

I don't know if they still do this, but back then you could get a report from the merc, and there sure as shit, the absoulute low for the day, was my two piddling ES contracts, I mean at the absolute low for the day, my 2 contracts traded. Only two contracts traded at that price.

5. bespoke

bespoke

i call those 'fuck prints' cause it feels like you just got fucked. happens to me all the time. someone always has to be the low or the high of the day. today it was you. there's no conspiracy going on. the market and your broker don't give two shits who you are or where your orders lie

feels even worse when you're the 52 week high or low