Running multiple API spreadsheets simultaneously with TWS

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by tonyf, Feb 16, 2021.

1. tonyf

tonyf

I am not a developer, just a mere excel power user.
    I find myself needing to run both of IB's ActiveX and DDE spreadsheets (standard API templates) simultaneously. The former to retrieve real-time margin requirements with the WhatIf function, the latter for Account Information, order entry, etc...

Now things become really slow whenever I open 2 different instances of excel to run those 2 spreadsheets simultaneously. I am obliged t do so (I think) as we are not allowed to run multiple TWS sessions for the same account on different PCs.

Is there any possibility of sorting this out with hardware? Can one have different CPUs running on a same computer, with an MS Excel session solely tapping into the resources of each CPU?
    My PC is quite old, but I have already upgraded the RAM to 16GB.
    Happy to look into any other suitable configuration to sort this out.
    Thank you.

2. traider

traider

you can try to get both spreadsheets to connect to a single TWS
    They connect to the same socket each using a different client ID
    Upgrade to a more modern PC. You can get a 2nd hand machine that is a real workhorse cheap these days

blueraincap likes this.
  3. tonyf

tonyf

You may be right, but I already get the 2 sheets to connect to the same TWS with the same client ID but using a different sockets.

Do you think a computer upgrade would fix that?

Last edited: Feb 16, 2021
  4. traider

traider

1. try easy stuff first, try changing tws virtual memory
    2. use ib gateway, Tws lags like crazy once u have other windows like charts or news open.
    3. upgrade hardware after trying above
    [​IMG]

5. tonyf

tonyf

1)Virtual memory was set at 800 by default. now doubled.
    2) how do I used IB Gateway with the standard API spreadsheets? I have not needed to use it so far.

Thanks again.

6. traider

traider