Rule Breaker

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Jabez1947, Jan 31, 2002.

1. For some reason after breaking one rule, I broke by exit rule as well.

I have been trading for three years now and you would think that I would have learned my lesson by now.

Have you ever noticed that once you break one of your rules how easy it is to break others? Does one ever reach a point as a trader where they never break their rules? How many years does it take?

2. Rigel

Rigel

If you break it then it really isn't a rule, it's more like advice (which you can choose to accept or not).

3. tymjr

tymjr

Jabez: “Have you ever noticed that once you break one of your rules how easy it is to break others?”

Absolutely.

“Does one ever reach a point as a trader where they never break their rules? How many years does it take?”

I don’t know. I’ve been trading for many years and I still do stupid stuff. Just not as often. :)

I’ve noticed that to the extent that I have been able to automate or concretize my methodology I have been less likely to fall prey to rationalizations or subjective interpretation that can contribute to rule breaking. All within a spectrum, of course, since I cannot escape my presuppositions.

I think that I may have made that sound a bit more complex than I need to.

4. I too have found that I do not break rules as much as I used to. I think it has been about 2 or 3 months this time. It is just so frustrating. My first year I was trading like a kid with a video game. In my second year I starting documenting a trading plan with entry, exit, filters and rules. By the end of the second year this made trading a profitable business me. However, it would be a whole lot more profitable if I would stick with it 100% of the time.