RRSP question (canadians)

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by linx, Jan 1, 2004.

1. linx

linx

Im a full-time university student and is just learning the basics so i havent made much. Last year's notice of assessment i only had about $ 3100 worth of RRSP deduction limit. I would gather than this year another $1000 worth of room was probably added.

what my question is, i know most canadian brokers want atleast 5k before they open a self-registered RRSP account. I think i could over contribute to my RRSP without facing penalties if i only go over $2k above my limit. Is this true? or are there any brokers which dont have the 5k limit?

finally, the fees on these accounts are horrendous, what are you paying??

2. lescor

lescor

I have two self directed RRSP's at TD Waterhouse. I don't recall a $5k minimum to start, and as long as you pay the $100 a year fee, they don't care. I've had one of them at close to 0 balance for over a year now.

You can over-contribute up to $2k without penalty.

3. linx

linx

some self-directed RRSP accounts dont have any limits such as the ones where you can only deal with GIC's. Can you trade stocks in your self-directed RRSP account?

thanks for the information

4. Yes you can trade stocks in your account, but only a small % can be with US stocks, the majority is to be with Cdn companies or Cdn funds. The best opportunites can be found in the US ( only my opinion from what I found )

5. GSCO

GSCO

But remember, You can only take money out for select reasons without incurring a penalty.

1) to buy your first home (Home buyer's Plan)
    2) for education (lifelong-learning plan)
    3) to essentially retire

I had to withdraw to start daytrading and paid the penalty which is

10% on amounts $0 - $5000
    20% on amounts $5001 - $15 000
    30% on $15 000 and above