Router suggestions + printing

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by listedguru, Sep 7, 2008.

1. Can someone please bring me up to speed on wireless routers? I have an older Linksys model that just doesn't cut it anymore (dropped signal, etc)..

Anyway I want to have one computer (trading rig) hardwired in and a wireless connection for a laptop. Also if possible I would like to be able to print from the laptop (wireless printing). I have a new HP 4 in 1 printer/fax/copier scanner and has a usb connection.

Do I just get a router and that a usb connetion and plug the HP into that? Would I be able to print wlrelessly then?

Also I noticed they have new 802.11n routers. Do I need that or is it overkill? What about a hardwired gigabit connection? Is that necessary?

Sorry for all the questions - as you can tell I'm not too tech savvy (LOL).

Thanks,

-Guru

2. There's a few options and I am no expert by any stretch.

1) Print Server. Something like this - http://www.netgear.com/Products/PrintServers/WiredPrintServers/PS101.aspx

2) Here's what I do - I keep the desktop that is hard wired on at all times and have the printer connected into that computer. Then you can view the printer over your local network and print through that connection. The catch is that the desktop must be on for this to work.

3. ATLien

ATLien

4. So I would need a router that has not only a usb port but also a print server too? I'm trying to avoid having to keep my trading PC on 24/7 in order to print off my laptop....

What are the advantages of the gigabit ports? A regular wired port will run a 15mb internet connection correct?

-Guru

5. Jachyra

Jachyra