Rookie Trader Journal - Advice Welcome

Discussion in 'Journals' started by krolyk55, Apr 11, 2008.

1. krolyk55

krolyk55

Yes, I am a newbie, and yes I am stupid enough to jump in and start trading with all you pro's without any formal education or much experience, yes I want to make huge returns and yes I am scared of losing my money.

I have been paper trading for about 2 months now, primarily S&P 500 Futures (ES), but I have toyed around with the Dow Futures, Nasdaq Futures, Russell Futures, Treasury Futures (2yr, 10yr, 30yr) and even some regular high volume Nasdaq stocks like Google, Bidu, First Solar and Reasearch in Motion.

I went and watched a few friends day trading a few months ago, and I got hooked, since then I've been trying to mimic their systems, while adding things of my own that seem to work. I feel like I've learned a lot over the last 2 months of practicing, but I know I need to be careful.

I've reached a point where I'm making great returns on paper (I know I know, it's not the same), 2%-5% per day, with a losing day every once in awhile. I don't really expect these kinds of results with real money, but hopefully something in that direction. I mostly do this in little chunks, 3 to 4 ticks at a time, trading 30-60 contracts a day. I try to stay in only 1-5 minutes at a time, but sometimes am forced to stay in longer. I never hold over night.

I have about $50k in an account with IB now, and I use Ninja Trader for my charting and trade executions. I would like to post my trades or at least daily P&L in this journal, to encourage support and constructive advice from anyone who would like to give it, as part of my education. I'm going to start small and gradually increase the number of contracts I trade over the next few months.

I've noticed that Elitetrader is filled with friendly and insightful people. I look forward to your comments.

2. Pivotas

Pivotas