Rookie needs help...

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by Rake, Aug 14, 2002.

1. Rake

Rake

I am brand new to futures... but I am determined to discover what all the rage is about.

Could people recommend a good brokerage firm? Maybe give me your top 3 picks...

Also, I have read some books, but I am looking for a futures book that is what Natenburg is to options. Any suggestions?

Exactly how many U.S. futures exchages are there? Do brokers have access to all of them usually? What are your favorite exchanges?

How many places do the beloved e-minis trade?

Thanks...

2. jeffm

jeffm

Elitetrader, and the internet in general, are superb learning resources. There is a ton of information on this site for beginners. If this is true: "I am determined to discover what all the rage is about.", then you need to roll up your sleeves and start digging. No need to ask people to repeat what has been written many times already.

Look above this window, where it says "Forums>>Derivatives>>Futures>>Rookie..." Click "Futures" and start learning.

-Jeff

3. The search mode is excellent here also. The rage of emini sp is they are cheap, fast fills, great volume, low commish.

Many of the guys here use Interactive Brokers.

As for the rest, your journey has just begun. You are very fortunate to have been turned on to this site so early in your pursuit.

For me though, the first rule is....

4. Rake

Rake

I am reading as many posts as possible. But there are some basic concepts that I am missing. So I have to ask as I go too...

thanks for the tips..

5. ddefina

ddefina

One tip, don't undercapitalize. You are trading lots of dollars with futures.

6. Buy low, Sell high... best advice I've ever received.:D :D :D

7. ChrisM

ChrisM

Oh man, You`ve got ways to go :( Whatever You do, do not think You know what to do... this is usually beginning of the most expensive lesson.
    Anyway, good luck, let the Futures be with U :D

8. WarEagle

WarEagle Moderator