Rookie journal

Discussion in 'Forex' started by tom123, Feb 21, 2008.

1. tom123

tom123

Hello all. I'm a newbie to forex. started learning and practicing a demo account about a month ago.
    Searching for education along the way,I discovered Elite Trader web site, and see the great value of reading what others have to say, especially interested in gaining any insight and understanding from experienced experts here, but I also know that it can be a chore for them to respond to all my rookie questions and comments when I go to their threats...so I decided to post my own thread here, and hope to share thoughts with anyone interested. All comments are welcome. Newbies and experts. I might try to post a few daily thoughts as I go along this learning process. and I hope this idea of the rookie journal is ok by the moderator. I dont know if this web site is just for experts.moderator,you can close this thread if you need to. but since it seems a great place to exchange thoughts on forex trading....as a rookie, I know I can benefit by any comments experts might have . I find when I post in their threads,I dont always see a reply. so they can contribute here if they like.
    again,all constructive comments are welcome.

I have a few thoughts I would pose to the experts if I was in a conversation..... some observations I think I see....
    1) do you think the euro/usd had a solid balance point (historical).... at 135.... and that the sharp rise to current levels (since summer 2007) is 'too high,too fast' and that the euro could (should?) drop back to as low as 140? and even lower?

is that possible/plausible?

2) If the euro is going to hit 150....do you think its likely to not happen for a few months ? instead of a few days or weeks?

3) what do you expect to happen to euro/usd (or any currencies) if there is another major war/attack by the US in the coming year?
    or any other major news events? do they really have a great effect on the currency movements?