Rookie Advice

Discussion in 'Options' started by pkm, Apr 12, 2011.

1. pkm

pkm

Hello,

I am a novice options trader jumping in at the deep end and need some advice from some experts just to clarify things in my head!

I have bought some May 28 Put options in a company (SIL) at a cost of 0.75 cents. 20 contracts at a cost of $1500 dollars (plus fees). SIL is currently trading around the mid 29s.

My thinking is that if SIL get's down to the breakeven price of 27.25 then i will use this Put as a hedge against a share trade at which point i will purchase 2000 shares in SIL in the hope that it will shoot back up again.

Clearly if SIL doesn't move down then it's a loss - which i presume can only be a maximum loss of $1500?

If this works out as anticipated am i right in thinking that there would be no loss on this trade for the lifetime of the option and i have effectively insured the trade (albeit in the future)? If the trade continues downwards then the loss in the shares will be offset by the gain in the options? If the trade moves up then there will be gains on the shares and a loss of $1500 on the options?

As the option moves closer to expiry it devalues. If the option is in the money will it always be worth the intrinsic value of the share up to the point of expiry? So say SIL went down to 22.25 the option value at that point should be a profit of $5 per share. Is this true right up to expiry or do i need to sell a few days prior or am i overlooking something?

I hope this is clear enough for you to understand - i think i'm right but i just need clarification as it's a complicated trade for a first timer!!!

Cheers

2. jkgraham

jkgraham

I'm new to option trading as well. Everything you wrote appears correct to me. Now that I can use Think or Swim's probability of touching graph, it appears that the PoT $27.25 by April 16 is 28% and PoT by May 21 is 75%.