Rollover rates better at Gain vs. IB, does anyone care about this?

Discussion in 'Forex' started by bluelou, Feb 27, 2009.

1. bluelou

bluelou

I'm new to forex, usually trade futures, and I've been on the fence over using IB vs. Gain. I noticed that the rollover rates and interest paid on USD cash balances was quite a bit better at Gain.

For example, on EURUSD last week, Gain relative to IB, had paid +175 bps ann. Sure, that's only about $5 per lot but that can add up over time.

Also, Gain is paying 2.5% on USD cash balances. If I understood IB correctly, they're paying 0% for $ amts under $250k or so.

I know there are a lot of IB fans here on ET. Is IB that much better that traders don't mind a higher carrying cost?

FWIW, IB is no deal on futures commissions either.

2. Those Gain rates are significantly out of date, the 2.5% rate should have clued you in to that (have you read a business headline or walked into a bank in the past 6 months?). Call Gain and get the correct rates, and tell them to update whatever page you're getting those from.

Benchmark Rates as of 20090225

USD
    Fed Funds Effective1 (Overnight Rate)
    0.210%

EUR
    EONIA1 (Euro Overnight Index Average)
    1.295%

3. bluelou

bluelou

TraderKGB,
    Thx for presuming that I'm not aware of mkt interest rates. The rates I mentioned were provided by Gain on Monday via phone and confirmed in an email. The rates seem high, that's the reason I've asked the question here on ET.

Also, I was actually more interested in the spread in rollover rates b/t the two firms. Any thoughts on this?

4. Then they gave you incorrect rates, simply no way they're paying 2.5%.

Spread between the two is likely very insignificant (esp. in this low rate environment). It appears that Gain doesn't show their rates online, but if their rates are anything like those listed on their sister site (forex.com), then they are not competitive with IB.

5. bluelou

bluelou