Rolling up covered calls

Discussion in 'Options' started by droid17, Apr 18, 2009.

1. droid17

droid17

Hi all :)

I am pretty new to options trading, and have a question about the risks / benefits of rolling up my covered calls. Yesterday I had 50 contracts on the BAC apr 10. I own 5000 shares at 5.50. I didn't want to sell my shares so I bought back the apr 10s for .51 and resold the May 11s for 1.22. Is this a good move? My plan is to do this every month if it continues to creep up? Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Droid

2. drcha

drcha

Yesterday I had 50 contracts on the BAC apr 10. I own 5000 shares at 5.50. I didn't want to sell my shares so I bought back the apr 10s for .51 and resold the May 11s for 1.22. Is this a good move?

Droid,

Congratulations on your successful trades thus far.

It depends. The safe, conservative thing to do would always be to let them call your stock away. (Since you are trading BAC, though, I expect that 'safe' and 'conservative' may not be your objectives at this particular time.) Doing nothing would have been making the statement, "I think the stock has done as much as it's going to do, and I'm ready to take my profit." Rolling is making the statement, "I think the stock can run some more, and I am willing to sacrifice a small amount of downside protection for the opportunity to enjoy some more stock price appreciation." Rolling is also making the statement, "I think that holding this stock and selling more calls against it is still a better position than letting it go and finding a different trade."

As for doing this month after month, as you know, eventually it will not work. The stock will eventually fall so that the same or higher strike calls for the next month provide very little premium (then you'll have to decide whether selling lower strike calls on a now falling stock is a good idea).