Rolling forward ITM options

Discussion in 'Options' started by ChanTrader, Jul 21, 2008.

1. Apologies if the answer to this is obvious to veterans.. as a rookie I'm not seeing it..

Suppose you sell an European OTM put on an index. Then sh*t hits the fan and 3 days before expiration the market is way down and your put is ITM. You buy back the puts at a loss but offset the loss by selling the next month's puts at the same strike price. In other words, you get a credit. Repeat every month until the puts are no longer ITM.

I'm obviously missing something .. otherwise it would be possible to never get a month with a debit.

2. hlpsg

hlpsg

Depends on how far OTM is the put that you're selling. If you're selling it far OTM, the credit you're getting is very little compared to what it's going to be worth when it gets ITM.

For e.g. assuming IV stays constant throughout the trade, and you sell an 8 delta put on RUT today, for $2.35, that same put will be worth $19.55 when it gets in the money.

That's a very unrealistic price even, because if the underlying were to move down to hit your 8 delta put, the IVs are surely going to get jacked up and your 8 delta put may be worth $23 - $24 if IVs were to go up 5 points. It may be worth even more.

Then there's no way you're going to roll this out the next month at the same deltas. You're going to have to come much closer in, to a 33 - 38 delta put. This also means your put will have a much higher chance of getting ITM. The probabilities of the underlying touching these newly rolled puts before expiry, are 73.76% and 82.77% respectively.

If this gets hit again, it's simply going to be a Martingale kind of strategy where you'll have to keep increasing contract size in order not to go ITM. If you play this game enough times, it's a matter of time before blowing up.