Rocket scientist want to move to the financial industry: How to?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Nym, Dec 14, 2012.

1. Nym

Nym

Ok, let's start with: "today has been a terrible day".

Someone say that I am a rocket scientist familiar with several perverted mathematical models that are commonly used in physics and proficient in Java, C/C++. In addition, I consider myself just a beginner as a trader/investor.

Like all the researchers that enter in this profession because "they wanted to do something good" every 6 months I ask myself "what i am doing here?" Today, as I said, has been a bad day, so I wanted to ask you:
    -) how do you apply for jobs in the financial industry?
    -) What kind of advice would you give to a person that want "to join the dark side"?
    -) How the recruitment goes? headhunter? websites?

Thanks in advance, for your support!

2. The Financial Establishment has NO USE FOR YOU WHATSOEVER until you have proven your ability.

Proven. Good Luck with that.

On the other hand... with an education in science, you should be schooled in observation and logical deduction... Put your mind to it and you will likely succeed... without requiring the help of anybody.

3. Nym

Nym

Thanks for the quick reply Scataphagos, natural follow up questions are:
    1) What is the best way to prove it?
    2) to who should I give that prove?

to the first questions you can not answer "by been profitable", this is too easy. What is the best way to prove it? How should i present that prove? What should i put in the CV once i have that?

4. 1. "Best Way To Prove"... not sure... something which is documented by fact with no conjecture.

2. Keep records. Build an audited track record... money will flock to you eventually. Don't be discouraged. It will likely take longer than you think to be believed. Just keep it up. Money will eventually find you when you have "done enough, big enough and for long enough".