RJO Vantage - How is it?

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by ace-xyz, Aug 11, 2009.

1. ace-xyz

ace-xyz

I am a beginner interested in trading CME financial products. I am considering Advanatage and RJO to open an account with.

Advantage has low commission rates but doesn't offer any free platform. Rates offered by RJO are high in comparison to Advantage but it does offer a free platform called RJO Vantage and doesn't charge anything for real time quotes and charts. Is anyone here using RJO Vantage? If yes, could you please tell me your experience with it? Even if you are not using this particular platform but know how it is, your reply would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

2. ace-xyz

ace-xyz

I know there are many RJO fans here but is no one using RJO Vantage? I wish to subscribe to this platform but would like to hear about few experiences first. Does anyone here recommend this platform for trading CME Futures?

Thanks!

3. I didn't care for it at all but it was better than their earlier platform. They still seem to be playing catch up with IB TWS and that is not good. TWS has problems but once you find a stable version it is good enough. I found RJO's commissions to be quite high also. You would be better going with IB or maybe OEC for better software and commissions.

4. ace-xyz

ace-xyz

Thanks for your reply Brocklanders! A few more questions:

1. What you didn't like about RJO Vantage?

2. Would you recommend it for a beginner trader? All I want to do right now is test my strategies in the live market. I know paying high commission at this stage wouldn't make much sense to a lot of traders, but:
    - I want to open an account with a FCM who is also a clearing member.
    - I don't want to pay for expensive data feed and charts right now.
    - I don't want to go to an IB.