RJO Futures' strange commission schedule

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by Brighton, Sep 27, 2013.

1. Brighton

Brighton

RJO Futures recently released a trading platform called RJO Futures Pro. It appears to be a re-branded version of CQG Interactive Client, or perhaps somewhere between CQG Trader and CQQ IC. I'm not an expert on CQG features, but the RJO product does have charts and a pretty decent options package, which is why I'm guessing that it's somewhere between the mid-range CQG Trader and the higher-end Interactive Client.

I downloaded the demo, messed around with it for a while and it looked pretty good. An RJO broker called a day or two later and asked if I had any questions. I made it clear that I am only interested in self-directed trading and if the commissions were OK, I'd open an account at $100K+. I don't need a news stream, RJO research, advice, suggestions, etc. I send in money, I get access to their platform and as long as it works, they'll never hear from me again.

For completely self-directed (online) traders, the commission is $7 PER SIDE plus exchange and NFA fees. For a mid-range of services the price is $17 per side. For their full service offering it's $25 per side. The pricing for self-directed seems way out of whack. They are two to three times as expensive as retail-focused shops like Think or Swim or OptionsXpress and about 10 times as expensive as Interactive Brokers, Crossland/Deep Discount Trading or a couple of others out there at 50 cents a side.

I'm willing to pay something for a decent platform but I'm scratching my head as to who their intended customer base is. $7 per side is just nuts, especially when you can find introducing brokers (IBs) with RJO as their FCM, and those IBs offer adequate platforms at a buck or two per side.

Maybe I got a wet-behind-the-ears broker? Or is RJO focused on really small-time guys and their IB relationships but nothing in the middle?