Risk Modelling

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Stu255, Jun 4, 2012.

1. Stu255

Stu255

I have been trading for approximately 3 years now, I typically trade for 3 months then take a 3 month break to deepen my sophistication.

Initially I started out flapping about making string after string of discretionary trades not making any real money.

I progressed from there not into technical charting analysis but order book analysis and masses of reading around market mechanics.

Until recently I have focused on trading illiquid Oil and Gas stocks listed on the FTSE AIM market in the UK.

These securities have numerous volatility expansions as micro-caps attempt to make large oil discoveries. Which makes them interesting to trade.

And I have gradually become proficient in this arena, by learning how to read information value from order book analysis.

I have also put a significant amount of work into building a system which tests the liquidity within the yellow strip as the London Stock Exchange allows hidden limit orders to be used on the book. The liquidity imbalance at the yellow strip along with the arrival rate of market orders at the bid and ask is what determines when the price will tick up and down.

However as I am a retail trader I can only do this on fairly illiquid securities with fewer than 2,000 trades/day, otherwise I lack the processing power to keep up with the market.

I am looking at expanding my system to include technical indicators and stock scanners to broaden my horizon and expand into new markets.

I am currently looking at using MultiCharts and ProQuote as a starting point for developing this additional layer to my system. I am also looking at moving towards more automated execution.