Risk Analysis - Critique

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Palindrome, Jun 3, 2018.

1. Palindrome

Palindrome

If anyone cares...

I'm trying to understand my performance over the past 11 months. I know how to google, and I apologize if I appear lazy. New system I designed.

I understand some of the below, but I'm looking for a critique and to help understand my performance better:

upload_2018-6-3_20-20-38.png

I know that my sharpe ratio is good, I read anything over 3 is "excellent"
    But what about Sortino and Calmar ratio? Am I taking too little risk in my trading system? Any thoughts or input positive or negative would be great.

There are some egg heads on ET that love this crap, I'm just a street smart trader with basic finance background having a tough time spelling things correctly let alone analyzing this stuff.

Any help would be welcomed.

Last edited: Jun 3, 2018
  2. truetype

truetype

Summary stats are meaningless without an understanding of the underlying returns-generating process.

dealmaker likes this.
  3. Palindrome

Palindrome

Its a futures system, directional based (not spreads).

I place bets on where the market will go... Take profits and take losses...long short (ZN, ES, Currencies, Metals, US Energy complex etc)

Average hold 2 hours to 3 days, no hold over the weekend.

What else are you looking for?

4. traider

traider

What type of optimization did you do to arrive at your results?

Is it a single factor model, ie just looking at price?

5. Palindrome

Palindrome

"Is it a single factor model, ie just looking at price?"

I believe what I do is multivariate time series analysis, I believe that is what it is called. I understand how markets move, in basic terms.

The figures I posted are derived from IB, my brokerage account that clears my futures transactions.

Not sure what you mean.