Riding winning positions (intraday)

Discussion in 'Trading' started by listedguru, Sep 23, 2003.

1. I've been a fulltime equities trader for over 5 years but I have always had trouble hanging onto winning positions. I daytrade so no matter what I close out my positions before the end of the day. It is so frustrating to book a .25 profit and watch your stock rip up another buck. I just have a terrible problem of constantly wanting to hear the cash register ring...

Can anyone offer any advice on how to hang onto these winners? If I would just increase my holdtime on my winners my profits would be greatly increased. Why is holding on so difficult?

-ListedGuru

2. dbphoenix

dbphoenix

They might also disappear entirely. You are the only one who can answer your question, by backtesting and forward-testing your plan, whatever that may be.

3. There are any number of reasons "why" it is difficult to hold on.... and while they are probably interesting to discuss.... if someone offered you a choice between that discussion and one on how to hold on longer, I bet you would choose the latter.

Does this happen a lot? Or does it just "seem" like it happens a lot? It might not really happen all that much, but leaving a buck on the table is so dramatic that it feels as if it happens "all the time!"

And the next question I would ask is what criteria are you using for an exit. Would it help your overall profits to loosen it up a bit? Or would something altogether new be better?

This is a very good and common question that most traders have regardless of the time frame except for scalpers.

4. i had the same dillemma --

i started setting targets and stops BEFORE putting on the trade.

then the problem was solved.

5. I have only been trading for about 5 months, but my method works for me. I ride my winners until it tells me to get out.