Revisiting an old Poll, Do you clearly and specifically predefine your profit target?

Discussion in 'Risk Management' started by TonePot, Mar 4, 2018.

Do you clearly and specifically predefine your profit target?

1. Yes

11 vote(s)
    47.8%
  2. No

12 vote(s)
    52.2%
  1. TonePot

TonePot

SimpleMeLike likes this.
  2. I set a profit target and a loss target and a time target on every trade. This, I have three exit strategies on every trade I put on.

birdman and Zodiac4u like this.
  3. tomorton

tomorton

I don't set a target price on long-term trend-following trades, the idea is they should run. In fact I try to pyramid every one which becomes a winner.

But if (occasionally only) tempted to take a shorter term entry, yes I would set a target, I'm thinking of r:r 1:1. But the real money's in the trend-following.

Handle123 likes this.
  4. TonePot

TonePot

As a day trader I always have a 1:1 for 1st PT and will take half off as it reaches 1:1 and starts to show weakness. Of course if its telling me I need to take off or exit all before it reaches it I will exit the trade prior to reaching the target.

5. No targets. Tried targets years ago, they just cost me money. I have to stay loose and move with the groove, shoot from the hip.

SimpleMeLike, ET180 and TonePot like this.
  6. Handle123

Handle123

Scalping has targets, day trading out by the close, swing or long term has so much at large target and rest has target so far away, might take years to reach. If system gets signal for a short term extreme move, positions will get hedged to take advantage of weakness and eventually hedge reverse for so long and exit.

birdman likes this.
  7. Yes. Best to "let profits run" as best we can.... and that has to be evaluated "on the fly".

birdman likes this.
  8. Hello TonePot,