Reversals...

Discussion in 'Forex' started by katiewc, Apr 8, 2010.

1. katiewc

katiewc

Stupid question but wondering if any of you have come up or come across a good reversal indicator? I have a decent system right now but i tend to get hit hard on days when the currency reverses.... running out of ways to try and forecast or at least find a better way to avoid some of the reversals. trying to get a fresh perspective.. thoughts anyone?

2. Bakinec

Bakinec

katie, I'm a noob in forex, but if experience in futures is worth anything, I'd say you're setting yourself up for failure in searching for that magic indicator and trying to forecast.

Stick to basics. Price action. Patterns. Pivots. Support/Resistance. Channels.

There is a great thread by Anekdoten here just on that. Although I haven't read past the first 5 pages, lmao, it IS the best thread probably ever created for new and struggling traders, even if its 2000 pages long.

Once you did that, you can start changing the perspective from which you look at price. Is time-based charting really the best way to view price? Maybe I should try something else? Explore.

3. katiewc

katiewc

thx for the reply. let me clarify, i'm not looking for a magic indicator... that doesn't exist let's be frank. every indicator over a long period of time will produce pretty much the same results... however certain indicators are good for predicting certain things. i'm looking for something that is statistically better at identifying reversal points. it's from that small statistic... even if it's right only 40% of the time.. that will enhance the profitability of my system exponentially.

it can be anything, fib retracement, MACD, etc etc.. just want to hear what everyone else uses

4. achilles28

achilles28

Calling market tops and bottoms is the hardest (and most profitable) trading feat to accomplish.