Return To Reality

Discussion in 'Journals' started by baggerlord, Oct 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This title is an invitation for many of you. I returned to reality about 3 years ago and life is much better here.

The first thing you have to do is accept that you are a part of the bell curve. For trading, especially daytrading, that bell curve is 90-98% losers depending on who you get your statistics from. You, no matter how smart you think you are, probably fall in the with the bulk of the curve that will end up being a losing trader.

My background: 7 years as a full time online poker player making about 110k a year. Near the end of that I spent about 2 years seriously attempting to daytrade, mostly stocks and some emini futures. I studied a ton, was very dilligent, and the last 6 months was making consistant profit as a stock daytrader.

That was when I realized that I needed 100k minimum plus living expenses to make it worthwhile.

The fact is that if you can make 40% a year you are among the best in the business. People dispute this but the people that disupute this are not running hedge funds. They are usually running a prop group or something else in the industry. They are selling shovels instead of mining, although some of them may mine on the side. They came to the same realization I did a while back and decided to get on the business side of things instead of switching careers altogether like I did. If you make 40% a year you will be in the poor house after paying taxes unless you live with your parents.

Here is the checklist for all you would-be pros.

1. 100k bare minimum and that is if you have a huge edge where you can at least double your money every year.
    2. A REAL edge. It is amazing when you realize that most people don't even know if they have an edge or not when they decide to go live with money they can't really afford to lose.