Retail Trader Journal

Discussion in 'Journals' started by LJuang, Nov 9, 2018.

1. LJuang

LJuang

Hi everyone,

This is going to be a journal for my efforts to be profitable in my $3k (down to 2.4k) Robinhood account. I am hoping to keep myself honest through a public journal and also like to get feedback on trades.

A little bit about my trading background: I have been a retail trader since 2008 and have not been profitable overall. Jesse Livermore would have recognized me one of the suckers who know enough to talk about trades but not enough to be consistent. I started out with the libertarian/Peter Schiff/inflationary gloom doom mind set and was lucky to be profitable from 2008 to 2011. Then reality kicked in and through accounts blowing up I learned that I had it all wrong.

Fast forward to 2016, I started reading up on trading/investment classics, e.g. Harry Browne, Ben Graham, Peter Lynch, Jesse Livermore, etc. Through it all, I learned to separate investing from trading, beta from alpha. I am of the opinion that one should only have a small trading account while most of his nest eggs be in some portfolio well balanced along the line Harry Browne suggested.

Now that I took away the larger chunk of my assets away from the danger of trading. I would like to learn how to be consistently profitable, in a small account. I am convinced that short term, concentrated bets are the way for the small trading account since I will be the first to admit that I am not capable of the patience and hard work for fundamental analysis.

As far as trading weaknesses, I am just like most people out there. I am usually slower than the market and not able to anticipate short term direction. I can be influenced by fear and greed. I can bet too much with options. This is why I thought I might get more eyeballs on me though this journal.