Retail Alternatives to Bullets.

Discussion in 'Trading' started by chasinfla, Jul 27, 2002.

1. Anyone know of any?

2. nike

nike

i am not sure, someone correct me if i am wrong. but i think those who trade retail can use something call "conversions".

its the same concept as bullets except one can use it over and over for a month where as bullets have to be renew every day.

3. I'm not an expert on bullets, but it seems from what I have gathered that a call is sold, a put is bought, and stock is bought long, but all at the same time with special order entry tools. At least that is what I am going on, correct me if I am wrong.

So, a retail person could theoretically create the same position. I imagine you would buy the stock, buy the put and sell the call in 3 different trades. The problem with that is that if the stock is dropping fast, your fills on the options will really suck. the long put will be really expensive and you won't get diddly for the call you are selling. That will also cause the balance of your delta's to be all out of whack. To really do it right I would think you would need nearly simultaneous fills.

The thing is I don't see why a retail firm would not be allowed to offer it. My options broker allows me to enter a straddle position as one order. I can then sell it with one order just like if it was a single position.

4. nitro

nitro

Here we go again.