resources that helped YOU learn to trade

Discussion in 'Forex' started by malaka56, Oct 1, 2005.

1. malaka56

malaka56

Hi, I am new to forex, and new to the TA aspects of financial markets which from what I can tell, is how forex is most often traded by day traders.

I'm not looking for a one-easy answer of a course or something to give me a forex trading stategy that will work in one go. I believe in soaking up as much information as I can get my hands on - BUT, I would like to do this in a relatively efficient manner by choosing the most recommended books used by experienced FX traders. So, in what books/resources have you found helpful in learning to trade foreign exchange?

So far, i am interested in books by Cornelius Luca (though i'm told they are quite dry and boring, but lots of good info) and the book: "Forex for Maximum Profit" seems to be the highest ranked forex book on amazon.com. Also, I understand TA is similar in forex as in equities, but not identical, so any forex specific TA resources would help. All of the VERY basics I can read off of the internet, however finding more comprehensive and non-redundant information, presented in an applicable manner seems to be much more difficult. So any suggestions, brains storms, whatever, would be appreciated. Thanks.

2. jamesD

jamesD

Main areas that you need to know is TechnicalAnalysis (Wiley's Encyclopedia is good), Fundemental Analysis (if you want to use it) and most importantly Risk Management. I believe what ever strategy you decide to choose, profitability depends on risk management. Unfortunately I didn't come accross a good book that really covers the type of risk management involved in forex market. I think the best way to have an idea about this is follow a good trader's trades for a while.

If you will be developing your own system, you will need a software to backtest and improve it. I recommend Wealthlab, at least you can load the demo and try it for a while.

3. [​IMG]

4. FredBloggs