Resouce for serious system developers

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by BeingProfitable, Jul 13, 2005.

1. I'm a programmer / trader and love developing trading systems. And yes, I'm well aware that this does not make me anything special. I'm looking for a forum/resource that has other serious developers, the kind that have taken the time to write their own program, so they are not tied down to a commercial trading program. My guess is it does not exist, but if someone here knows of one, I would much appreciate if you point me the way.

2. Remiraz

Remiraz

all of the trader's forums i been to relied on commerical software for backtesting (amibroker, tradestation, wealthlabs, metatrader etc).

i think a maybe a quant forum might have developers that uses their own program.

by the way, if u can make +200% annual returns conservatively, this is what will happen:

Start: $100k
    Year 1 : $300k
    Year 2 : $900k
    Year 3 : $2.7mil
    Year 4 : $8.1mil
    Year 5 : $24.3mil

And so on....So starting with a $100k account you can retire with $2.7mil by year 3. Kind of funny isn't it?

For your 50% a month system:

Start: $100k
    Year 1 : $12.9mil

Erm...i think thats it. If you can make 50% a month, u'll have $12.9mil by year 1 using a $100k account.

In fact, you can set up your own fund. With 200% conservative performance, u'll get billions in investor funds.

No, i'm not trying to flame you. Just showing u why your previous post encountered resistance. Even if you really believe u can clock 50%/mth or 200%/year, just tone it down by 1 decimal place...5%/mth or 20%/year. Which is what most billion dollar funds makes anyway...

3. Appreciate your message, I really do. It shows some of the realities of system trading and well trading in general. I agree 100% with what you say! I'll be the first to admit, that I don't think that the system could sustain 200% returns after a certain point.