Residency and avoiding state income tax

Discussion in 'Taxes and Accounting' started by spread, Nov 11, 2011.

1. spread

spread

Recently moved in with my long-term girlfriend, into her home in a high-tax state. She's in an excellent job situation, and despite my state income tax exceeding her total income, living elsewhere isn't happening for the next few years.

I'm a self-employed futures trader. I own no taxable property in any state, and my car has been sold. We're sharing vehicles, all in her name. I make all local purchases in cash. I believe the only thing tying me to a particular state is my health insurance, of which can certainly be changed. The only things I'll write off going forward are my trading software expenses and exchange leases.

Living together has been long planned, but my other efforts to begin to "disappear" are a result of my thinking that this is an opportunity for me to claim residency in a tax-free state.

I had initially planned to buy property in a neighboring tax-free state, a drive of 6 hours or so. I'd need to drive there to retrieve certain pieces of mail - or pay someone random to do it for me.

I've happened upon the idea of using a residency and mail forwarding service. These are largely used by retired couples who "RV" around the country. Some examples:
    escapees.com
    mydakotaaddress.com

Looking for opinions on the viability of this idea. Anyone here claim residence in a tax-free state, without actually living there?

2. GordonTheGekko

GordonTheGekko Guest

Texas and New Hampshire have among the best state taxes.

3. GordonTheGekko

GordonTheGekko Guest

4. Why not focus on reducing your reportable income...

Do the double irish trick google and ms do.

Create a foreign corp and transfer your trading technology to it.
    License the trading technology from your own foreign corp.
    The agreement would all for 90% of all winnings as your license fee.