Requesting Help Before Ordering Hardware!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by radist, Dec 13, 2010.

1. radist

radist

I'm not very technically savy and put together a computer system based on all the great info on this website. But could anyone kindly review the specs in my shopping cart and see if I omitted anything significant.

I'm purchasing it from Cyberpower in Baldwin Park, CA as follows:

Configuration
    CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-950 3.06 GHz 8M Intel Smart Cache LGA1366
    HDD: 1TB SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 16MB Cache 7200RPM HDD (Single Hard Drive)
    MEMORY: 6GB (2GBx3) DDR3/1600MHz Triple Channel Memory Module (Corsair or Major Brand)
    MOTHERBOARD: (3-Way SLI Support) MSI X58A-GD65 Intel X58 Chipset SLI/CrossFireX Triple-Channel DDR3 ATX Mainboard w/ 7.1 Audio, eSATA, GbLAN, USB3.0, SATA-III, RAID, IEEE1394a, 3 Gen2 PCIe, 2 PCIe X1 & 2 PCI (All Venom OC Certified)
    SOUND: HIGH DEFINITION ON-BOARD 7.1 AUDIO
    VIDEO: NVIDIA GeForce GTS 450 1GB 16X PCIe Video Card [+54] (Major Brand Powered by NVIDIA)

Price: $1,140.62 including tax and 3 year, non-onsite warranty. But I live driving distance.

Excludes windows as I have comparable software on my mac.

Will have three, 24" monitors, either HP LA2405wg 24-inch Widescreen LCD or Dell Ultrasharp.

What do you think? I'm worried about the fine details like extra fans or something big I should have known about but don't.

I compared Dell and HP and this appears to be the best bang for the best price.

Many thanks.
    Melanie

3. radist

radist

What is Sandy Bridge platform? Will google it....Cyberpower is backlogged for a month due to the holidays so sounds as if I should wait. Thanks for your input.

4. Looks priced about right. Only issue should be video card(s). Planning to game and trade on this rig? Trade only?