Requesting advice on how to stop moving my stop loss order?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by David M21, Jul 29, 2018.

1. I trade the S&P emini (ES) and have made money on 84% of my trades for the year. I am not a novice in trading. However, I continue to make the same stupid mistake of moving my stop loss order to offset my position whenever the market moves against me. For instance, on Friday I had a 4 point stop loss on my long ES position and it turned into a 16 point loss. I keep hoping, begging, praying the market will reverse and breakeven which it only occasionally does. What do traders do to mentally prevent themselves from making this mistake of moving their stop loss order? Any advice would be appreciated.

2. tomorton

tomorton

I regard entering the market on a short-term trade as like running into a burning building to rescue your life savings. You can come out the way you want to, the way you came in, but you'd better have a Plan B - before you rush in.

I only enter the market on orders. I always set a stop-loss attached to the entry order so I know where it will be before the position is even opened. Once in the position, I know why I entered, I understand why I put the stop where I put it and I know that if the stop price is hit, I really really want to be out. And I never move the stop further from entry.

vanzandt, David M21 and Stocktracker like this.
  3. dozu888

dozu888

the short answer is it doesn't matter much... stops don't move the needle on your performance.. so do whatever you are comfy with.

4. Put your stop where it has a good chance that it will reverse, so you would want to be out anyway (and maybe even start looking for an entry in the opposite direction)

vanzandt likes this.
  5. SunTrader

SunTrader

I frankly find either the question or the first line of your post to both be ummm less than candid.