Reiterating my sell recommedndation on TXN and tech stocks

Discussion in 'Stocks' started by hajimow, Oct 19, 2010.

1. hajimow

hajimow

Forget about AAPL. Think about the other tech companies which will disappoint. TXN has lots of rooms to go down. There are lots of overvalued tech stocks to short.

2. Nine_Ender

Nine_Ender

I think the tech sector is undervalued in general ( I'm not talking APPL or IBM which have gone to all time highs ). I know you liked TXN short at $25.95 so $28 must seem like a huge bargain to you. Actually, that's pretty much right in the middle of the range I would put on the stock today ( $24-$32 ) and barring a market correction I think it likely retests $32 by January ( at the latest ), at which time there might be a good short depending on market conditions and the earnings date.

I'm not an expert on TXN so I wouldn't invest in it myself, and it seems to have limited potential long or short. If I'm wrong so be it, I don't understand RIMM at a P/E of 9 but that's what the market says today.
    To me that is limited downside with significant upside potential if sentiment changes on the stock. TD Waterhouse has a target of $90 US on it.

My sense is there will be some mutual fund managers looking for growth potential to finish their year without incurring huge risks. Technology might attract some of that money. Don't be surprised if laggards like Intel and Microsoft post a gain by year end.

3. Nine_Ender

Nine_Ender

Ok, its time to post your real time position on TXN. Earnings tonight its stuck around $29. I'd like to see if you make money off this one and the method of choice ( ie option expiry choice and how you handle the spread ).

4. hajimow

hajimow

My position on TXN
    Naked Call 26 for Dec and naked PUT 27 Nov.

This is an on going position (9 months so far). I make money on the position that expires and shoot the losing one to the next month.

5. hajimow

hajimow

6. hajimow

hajimow

7. hajimow

hajimow

Ouch :D