Regression trees for predicting trade success

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by jcl, Feb 22, 2012.

1. jcl

jcl

I'm currently experimenting with classification and regression trees for predicting if a trade will be profitable or not. The results look quite promising so far - the profit almost doubles when I filter out trades with rules generated by a relatively simple regression tree. But some more research is required.

Has anyone already made experiences with tree based machine learning algorithms, such as CART? And is there some interest that I share my results here?

2. I'm sure there will be a great deal of interest. Wish I could contribute to the thread but I have zero experience with the subject.

3. Humpy

Humpy

If it is any good there will be lots of interest.

So speak on

4. Hugin

Hugin

We have done some work with CART like classifiers within non-trading applications. They are easy to use and you can easily understand the results, which is not necessarily true of other classifiers.

One problem is that they are sensitive to the nature of the dependencies between input variables. The reason is that decision trees (at least the standard version) takes decisions one variable at a time.

Take for instance a problem with two classes of data, with two input variables and where the line that separates the two classes is along the diagonal. CART struggles to solve this efficiently. It can be solved by generating a large number of nodes where each nodes takes care of one small part of the line but for a real problem this adds to the risk of overfitting data since you add a lot of parameters (the additional nodes) and it is hard to guarantee that the training algorithm use these as expected.

5. ssrrkk

ssrrkk