Refco Pro

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by tbomb, Jul 20, 2005.

1. tbomb

tbomb

Any thoughts from those at RTS?

2. andyp123

andyp123

I would like to say that I have been trading for over 6 years for the old Macfutures and now Refco Trading services.

The new software imposed on us by Refco is terrible. Just today over Greenspans testimony the system crashed over 3 times.

This is completely shocking seeing as Refco has had over 3 months now to prepare for the end of TT.

On top of this the lack of attention the top managers are giving to some of there biggest clients is also very discouraging.

What with competition now springing up from other companies like Saxon Financials, which is a smaller more dynamic prop shop, Refco should be very careful not to lose there top position.

They have already lost the bulk of their best traders in Chicago so which country is next?:(

3. 7swfc

7swfc

hey andyp123, you fancy opening an office in toronto?

4. rolex49

rolex49

Now i, like most, realise that using a new system may take time to get used to but at the moment Refco Pro is anything but Professional. Infact it's pony.

The thing I still can't understand is how it is so difficult to see and feel what is happening in other markets. I traded the 10yr over Greenspan today and found it impossible to watch the 30yr at the same time....I was even missing 500 clips up and down in the tbond which are a pretty big deal.

The only people who are going to benefit out of this change are companies who make headache/sea-sickness tablets and opticians!!

5. longjoe

longjoe

Can't blame Refco for trying to get a piece of TTs marketshare. They see the $500 or whatever it is a month each of their traders pay to TT as a potential additional revenue source. It really adds up.

I just feel sorry for the Refco traders who have to beta test unproven software for the next x number of months/years with their own money. All just so Refco can enhance their bottom line.