Real-time scanner & alerts based on indicators

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by cunparis, Feb 24, 2008.

1. I'm looking for a real-time scanner capable of sending email alerts so that I can get them while at work and place a trade via the web.

My main criteria is that I can specify the criteria. I was going to go with trade-ideas but I haven't found a way to put indicators such as MACD or stochastics.

I'd like this scan to be done against a watch list. I plan to compile this watchlist myself (EOD scanning + my own criteria such as favorite stocks).

I'm not sure if I should use a software on my PC or if I should use something online. I am pretty sure I can do it with NinjaTrader (market analyzer + custom indicator code + email http://www.ninjatrader-support.com/HelpGuideV6/helpguide.html?SendMail1), but I'm new at it and leaving it run unattended on my computer will be more difficult to test it.

I'm also considering quotetracker. From what I saw, has canned alerts such as price and volume and can't do the customization that I want (please let me know if this isn't the case).

If anyone has any suggestions please let me know. In the meantime I'm going to try coding something in NinjaTrader. It's going to be a big learning curve for me but once I get it, it should be ok.

PS: I also looked at stockfetcher but it doesn't appear to be realtime..

PSS: Currently looking at neoticker too. A bit costly though.

2. I am also trying to find something simmilar... telechart and metastocks are the best BUT are very expensive. I have QT but they are not know for scanning.

telechart -89$/mo, meta -135 $/mo

3. I wouldn't mind paying $100 if one application did it all but from what I see each application has its specialty. And we need to subscribe to several to get everything. That's what makes all this so much fun! (sarcasm).