Ratio Spread Question

Discussion in 'Options' started by bevo96, Jun 29, 2009.

1. bevo96

bevo96

I am an admitted options novice trying to gather how professional options traders work into and out of positions. I have the following question:

Assume I have a 2:1 ratio put spread (18 days to expiry).

I am long the 48 strike(1) and short the 45 strike (2). The underlying is currently trading near 51. The current p/l of the trade is currently above its its payoff at expiry (assuming the underlying stays above 48 at expiry). Obviously the maximum payoff is at 45.

1) Would you leg into a riskless fly (buy back the 42 strike) and take a riskless 1/3 the current open p/l of the trade for the chance of a 7x payoff if the underlying goes out at the 45 strike?

2) Would you close the position and take the open p/l?

3) Would you do something else?

If this is not enough information I will be glad to share more details. Thanks in advance for responses.

Bevo

2. 1) Would you leg into a riskless fly (buy back the 42 strike) and take a riskless 1/3 the current open p/l of the trade for the chance of a 7x payoff if the underlying goes out at the 45 strike?

Sure, offstrike flies are an excellent way to simulate much of the behavior of a ratio spread and with limited risk. Absolutely take some profit if it's on the table and you are starting to feel "uncomfortable" about the position. Also, you seem to have your eye on the max payout of the proposed butterfly. There should be a range of profit in there for you to consider, not just that 7x sweet spot.

2) Would you close the position and take the open p/l?

If you did not have the position on already, would you put it on now at the stock and options prices you are observing today?

3) Would you do something else?