Raising money - what am I doing wrong?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by xtrhvydty, Aug 29, 2008.

1. I made 18% thru April (64% annualized, sharpe 3.3, file att'd). Then I had a financial emergency and had to clean out my trading acct. I've been trading four years and am fluent with options spreads and futures. 2007 I worked full time while in 2006 a similar thing happened whereas I made 48% before I had to deplete funds.

I figured it's worth a try. After all, people give money to people not causes. So I proposed my deal to accredited investors with over $1MM net worth. A lot listened for over an hour but no deal. I also solicited hedge funds. I was hoping they might want to recruit some raw talent. Still no cigar. So I'm thinking either I'm a lousy salesman or I'm way too green.

I'm not interested in taking money from friends/family, just accredited investors or those familiar with the financial industry. It's a hairy legal gig otherwise (see thread "How to start an LLC...").

It seems crazy that I can make over 50% a year and can't allocate any funds from anyone on the planet.

Any suggestions?

thx to all

2. You are ignoring the fact that large investors know that what works with $20,000 doesn't work with $1 million and up.

3. They are seeing through your lack of personal finance management. You're selling from a poor position, not a position of strength, they can smell the desperation.

4. ElCubano

ElCubano

Contacting the right people is crucial. In order to get those 10 or 20 you must sell yourself 5000 times....get the picture.....there are as many accredited investors who gamble on red as there are those that dont...piture yourself as the red...and hit the pavement....peace

5. nkhoi

nkhoi

It's like trying to hire a bank clerk but that person can't balance his/her own checkbook.

6. rwk

rwk