Raising Capital as a Discretionary Trader

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by prestonhouse, Apr 5, 2010.

1. I've been trading for 2 years in the spot fx market. This January marked the beginning of my trek to build a consistent 2 year track record before I try to register with barclays and other places and try to raise funds. I'm studying for my series 3 right now and plan to take it by end of June. (having to teach myself options, which is slowing me down a bit).

I've recently had the amazing opportunity of having a hedge fund manager here in my hometown of Charlotte, NC begin to meet with me, and show me the ropes a bit concerning trading as a business. He has a decent sized fund (>10m). He was initially a discretionary trader when he first began to dabble in the markets but eventually taught himself coding language and transitioned into a quant trader. He is very biased and is trying to convert me. It is his thought that it's very hard for a discretionary trader to raise institutional capital. He says that you really need to have a quantitative method.

My question is this: Is that true? From a couple of threads I've perused, I notice that there are some fund managers in these here forums. Would any of you care to comment on this? If you have a 2 year track record with steady growth and very limited drawdown, a solid sharpe ratio...is it possible to raise some seed money as a discretionary trader?

Also...I should define discretionary as I think of it...to me discretionary is a trading system that has a manual pull of the trigger. A very strict set of rules governing the trading methodology and risk parameters, but ultimately a discretionary decision on whether a trade is taken or passed.

Any thoughts you professional traders out there???

2. It is unlikely you will raise much in the way of funds. But more importantly, your chances of achieving an interesting 2-year track record with good stats is a 100 to 1 shot.

3. CateFul

CateFul