Quotes fees / pro fees ... help

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by C2C, Apr 3, 2002.

1. C2C

C2C

Hello all,
    I need some help about the pro status and exchange regulations...

I'm a French trader and used to trade only the local markets.
    I recently started to trade the US stocks markets in intraday.
    So I hold an account with an American brokerage firm.

The firm supplied me with live quotes but I was not happy with the platform's charting capabilities.
    So I requested extension of data coverage to the US markets to my regular datafeed provider.

I was informed that something like 200$/mo would be paid to the exchanges in my name because I had to buy quotes under a pro status.

So I have two unsolved questions :
    -was I in my right when I used the brokerage firm's live quotes w/out paying pro fees ?
    (in the negative, what's the risk ?)
    -since I am not registered as a pro in the US, will I be asked to do so when the exchanges will receive the monthly dues paid ?
    (how much would this cost to me ?)

Thanks for advance for any help.
    I might seem to be a bit too concerned about this, but one of my short term goals is to get to trade remote w/ a pro firm.
    So I don't want to do something wrong with the exchanges that could end up in an impossibility to be pro later...

C2

2. You shouldn't be charged any "professional fees" since you are a customer of a brokerage firm. You need to make that clear with your data provider.

3. C2C

C2C

Thanks for your reply Don, I hadn't thought about a mismatch from the data provider...

Thx,

C2