QuickFIX/J FIX Engine

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by chaffcombe, Jan 16, 2009.

1. Hi Guys,

Hope I'm not breaking all etiquette here.

A few know me from the OANDA forums, and from my futurestech.com.au website. I've been a fully automated trader (F/X) for about 5 years now.

I currently writing a FIX API using the QuickFIX/J engine. I would very much like to get in contact with anyone with QuickFIX/J experience.

Cheers
    ~chaffcombe
    chaffcombe@bigpond.c**

2. x_diver

x_diver

3. byteme

byteme

I have some basic experience with QuickFix/J but the easiest thing for you to do is examine the source code for the Marketcetera ORS (Order Routing System).

The Subversion source code repository is accessible anonymously. Navigate to the ORS subproject and most of the code will be in the FixApplication class (off the top of my head).

The website is www.marketcetera.com - you may have to register to access the wiki which has details of the repository location. Again, off the top of my head, the repository was at code.marketcetera.com

BMe.

PS. Marketcetera is a Java-based open source platform that's been in development for a few years now. It has commercial backing and a team of developers. By the end of the year it will be a very feature rich solid platform.

4. I have a question regarding quickfix engine that Id like answered. Does anybody know specifically what message type I need to use in order to synchronise my programs internal time clock with the brokers server internal time clock? I cant seem too find a message that I can use to loop a request for server time so that my programs clock stays in absolute synch with the trading servers own internal clock. I know what message IB uses but nt what the corresponding fix message is to communicate with it. Anyone who knows Id be eternally grateful.