Questions re: going live with a system?

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by BrooksRimes, May 31, 2005.

1. I have 3 years of experience trading options and am moving to intraday futures trading.

I developed a system trading the YM (Dow emini) on 5 minute bars and backtested it in Amibroker. Its basically a reversal system. I optimized on 1/3 of the data and then tested on the other 2/3.

My trading day is 9:30-1pm EST. It trades 1-2 times per day, has 70% winners and makes 55 tics per trade (W+L). It uses a fixed point profit exit and a fixed point loss exit and exits after N bars. I tried a lot of exit strategies (trailing, ATR, risk based, etc.) and fixed point worked best (surprised me). The average trade lasts about an hour and a quarter.

This is my first time taking a mechanical system live and I have some questions:

- how hard is it waiting several hours for an entry signal?
    - how do you keep from getting bored and what do you do between signals?
    - how hard is it to watch a trade for an hour plus to see if it wins or loses?
    - I tested systems that reduce the time in the market but the net profit is a lot less. It may be better for stress level but worse for the wallet.

Constructive advice appreciated.

Thanks,

Brooks

2. If you are disciplined, it is not hard at all. You could set your system up with an audio alert so that you don't have to constantly stare at a computer screen. In between orders, you can do more research, set up spread sheets to model your account growth and count your millions of dollars, or, you could review your actual trading results and compare them with your model results and ask yourself, what the heck is going on here? :)

Speaking tongue in cheek of course,

Mike

3. maxpi

maxpi

Take your percent per day gain and extrapolate it out to percent per year and figure out how many Ferrari SuperAmericas you can buy.