Questions on Standard Margin/ Intraday Margin

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by jovos, May 12, 2017.

1. jovos

jovos

Hi all,

I'm a new trader and I started day trading Henry Hub Natural Gas futures. I was told that I violated the Intraday trading policy b/c I didn't flat the position 10 minutes before the market session ends. And I was set to the standard margin. My question is:

As trading commodity futures, one cannot choose to do intraday trading AND hold the position over night like trading stocks? One must choose one of those or what? So if I choose intraday trading margin, I MUST close out all the position before the session ends. And if I choose the standard margin, I can only buy and sell one day after. Am I right? By the way, my broker is Generic Trade. Correct me if I'm wrong.

2. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

I have no idea who Generic Trade is or their policies. The Clearing exchanges require their margin requirement at the end of session. What your broker allows during the day is up to them. Your FCM or broker can add to exchange margin overnight to reduce risk and their capital requirements. They can even reject the use of overnight positions if they choose.

Ingrid, Chubbly and tommcginnis like this.
  3. Javier

Javier

jovos I think you are wrong. I have traded futures and only requeriment (at least with my broker) was an overnight margin.

4. jovos

jovos

I meet the overnight margin and set stop orders for loss. Sometimes I do day trading and sometime I want to hold it overnight. Then I got a violation notice, is there any problem with that?

5. jovos

jovos

I meet the maintenance margin requirement. My account was set to use intraday margins. I'm holding a position and I got notice that I should be flat. Is that the rule in future trading that I have to be flat at the end of each day if I'm on intraday margins?

6. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor