Questions for Mark about Insurance

Discussion in 'Options' started by drcha, Jan 15, 2009.

1. drcha

drcha

Mark,

Truly enjoying your new book. I have two questions about insurance and neutral trading. If others wish to chime in I would welcome comments from anyone.

1. In this atmosphere, I have been trading (wide) butterflies. I have much more experience with them than with condors, so I feel more comfortable with them. I do sometimes trade them with insurance, either at the longs or inside the longs. In your opinion, do flies lend themselves to insurance strategies less readily than condors, or what do you think are the pros and cons of each?

2. Recently, I have also been paper trading VIX call options. I have no experience at all trading them with real money so at the moment I am trying to observe how they actually behave. As I was combing through my paper trades this morning, and also unhappily bailing out of one of my NDX Feb flies, I was thinking it would have been a good time to have a real VIX call :) Do you have any thoughts about using these in conjunction with puts/calls on the underlying as insurance?

Thanks
    Mary

2. dmo

dmo

Careful Mary - options on VIX are very poorly understood by most.

For example, answer this question: Today the VIX closed at 51. If you had bought an April 50 put on the close, would that put have been in the money or out of the money?

If you answered "OTM," then BZZZZ - better keep your money in a safe place for now. That's because the underlying for the April VIX is NOT the VIX index. It is the April VIX futures contract, which closed at 43.37.